Lessen Your Chances of Getting Pulled Over By Avoiding These 3 Simple Things
When driving in Western New York, it is often common to see a police officer pulled up behind an unlucky motorist. If you can avoid the following things, you can lessen the chance of seeing flashing lights in your rearview mirror.
1.) Caught Driving an Unregistered Vehicle
There are several things that could happen if you’re charged with driving with an expired or lapsed registration. You’d certainly have to appear before the court in the jurisdiction that law enforcement charged you with, as well as appear, or show proof, to the Department of Motor Vehicles that your registration is actually intact. They can fine you several hundred dollars over a certain time period if you don’t demonstrate that your car is registered in an appropriate manner. The court would fine you up to $150 and a mandatory New York State surcharge of between $80 and $95 for that.
- You will have to appear before the court in the town or city you were charged
- You will have to prove to the DMV that your registration is intact
- If you are convicted, you can face fines up to $150 plus a mandatory New York State surcharge of $80-$95
2.) Caught Driving Without Insurance
There’s a lot to know, and it’s very important to know, about driving without insurance in Buffalo. If you’re pulled over for a routine traffic matter, going through a red light, speeding, the officer is going to ask you for your license, registration and insurance card. If you’re unable to produce that insurance card, or if your has lapsed, it’s an unclassified misdemeanor and it’s extremely costly. You could automatically lose your license if you’re driving on a public highway without valid insurance. However, what happens a lot of times is you do not get your updated insurance card; you made your payment and you simply don’t have the card.
What I would suggest is contact a seasoned attorney like myself, as a former prosecutor. There’s been many times when individuals did have valid insurance but they just did not have the card with them. What I would require is that they bring the card in. We’d demonstrate through various ways that they had active insurance, and I’m pretty successful in getting that charge dismissed.
- If you are caught driving without insurance, it will be an unclassified misdemeanor
- You could lose your license if you were driving on a public highway
3.) Caught Driving While Talking on a Cell Phone
If you’re charged with driving in Buffalo on a cell phone that’s a relatively newer, and it’s up to five points. If you drive for a living that could certainly affect your insurance and/or your ability to drive. If it’s a first-time offence, it’s up a $150 fine and a mandatory New York State surcharge of $80 to $95. Also important to note, if you’re charged and convicted of charging on a cell phone and five points are added to your driving record, you need to double check and make sure that your abstract doesn’t have more than 11 because then you could lose your license.
It’s important that you hire an attorney like myself, who’s experienced in the vehicle and traffic area. My office prides itself on one call does it all. Most folks are busy, they’re working folks, they don’t have time to sit in a crowded court room for two to five hours on any particular evening, which is generally when these courts are held. I’m able to go there on your behalf, save you that time, any potential embarrassment, if you happen to see a neighbor, a co-worker, or, God forbid, your employer.
- For a first time offense, you could pay up to a $150 fine plus a mandatory New York State surcharge of $80-$95
- If you are convicted 5 points will be added to your driving record
Have you or a loved one recently received a ticket for a traffic infraction or violation in Western New York? Let our experienced Criminal Attorney handle your charge so you don’t have to lose anymore time.