There are several things that could happen if you’re charged with driving with an expired or lapsed registration. You’d certainly have to appear before the court in the jurisdiction that law enforcement charged you with, as well as appear, or show proof, to the Department of Motor Vehicles that your registration is actually intact. They can fine you several hundred dollars over a certain time period if you don’t demonstrate that your car is registered in an appropriate manner. The court would fine you up to $150 and a mandatory New York State surcharge of between $80 and $95 for that.
- You will have to appear before the court in the town or city you were charged in
- You will have to prove to the DMV that your registration is intact
- If you are convicted, you can face fines up to $150 plus a mandatory New York State surcharge of $80-$95
Frequently Asked Traffic Violation Questions:
What Happens if i’m Pulled Over for a Traffic Infraction?
- In New York State, if you’re pulled over for a traffic infraction, more commonly known as a Stop sign or speeding, you could be fined. In certain jurisdictions, if you continue to do this, or you have a prior past record, the judge, if he saw fit, put you in jail for a day to or two or up to 15 days in jail for a violation. The fines for a first offender can be up to $150, with a mandatory New York State surcharge of anywhere between $80 and $95, depending on the jurisdiction that you’re in.
Why Should I Hire an Attorney for a Traffic Ticket?
- By hiring attorney for a traffic ticket, you won’t miss out on work, other functions. Your attorney can generally go to court on your behalf. You would sign a waiver of appearance, and then avoid having to sit in court, miss work, and potentially some undue embarrassment.
Get Our Free Traffic Law Video Series
Have you been charged with driving an unregistered vehicle? If so, contact the experienced Buffalo Traffic Ticket Attorney John Dudziak.